Osaka, Japan to Host the Third International Jazz Day

The third annual International Jazz Day will take place on April 30, with Osaka, Japan, serving as this year’s host city. The event will kick off with a daylong series of jazz education programs, performances and community outreach. An evening concert at the outdoor Osaka Castle Park will feature performances by Toshiko Akiyoshi, John Beasley (also musical director), Kris Bowers, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Terri Lyne Carrington, Theo Croker, Sheila E., Pete Escovedo, Roberta Gambarini, Kenny Garrett, James Genus, Roy Hargrove, Lalah Hathaway, Terumasa Hino, Earl Klugh, Marcus Miller, T.S. Monk, Gregory Porter, Claudio Roditi, John Scofield, Wayne Shorter, Esperanza Spalding, Lew Tabackin, Steve Turre and other artists.